jump to navigation

Anne Rice on why she rejected the Catholic faith – and her fascination with immortality October 24, 2010

Posted by Diana McCabe in Authors.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Anne Rice posted this link on Facebook to a recent interview she did with The Guardian’s Emma Brockes. Here’s a snippet:

For 41 years, she was married to her high school sweetheart, Stan. “My behaviour has always been ultra-conservative,” she says, “but my imagination –” she smiles “– is just rampant with mavericks.”

The latest book, Of Love And Evil, is the second in a series about Toby O’Dare, a former assassin turned envoy for angels, who time-travels to Renaissance Italy like a kind of celestial MacGyver. It will, she says, be reviewed through the prism of her fallout with the church, but she can’t edit her thoughts to suit others. “I think I was brought up with the idea that an author has to follow her own instincts and protect her work. I think that was a given of the 60s and 70s, a romantic concept of the artist that you go with your deepest instincts about what you’re doing. I don’t think I’ve ever abandoned that idea. People write to me every day asking for advice, and the most frequent advice I give is have the courage to stand by your work and protect it.” I would not like to get into a fight with Anne Rice.

To read the entire interview go to the Guardian’s website HERE.

Did you miss these? Click on the links to read.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

