jump to navigation

At the book release for Cassandra Clare’s ‘City of Glass’ March 26, 2009

Posted by Diana McCabe in Authors.
Tags: ,
trackback

cityofglassWhile I’ve been out at NCAA March Madness games, my little sis, Sandra, was looking for paranormal-romance authors. Here’s her find — Cassandra Clare!! (Update: I’ll post Shana Abe’s writing tips this weekend.)

HERE’S SANDRA’S POST:

I’ve never thought I’d ever be the kind to stand in line to get a book signed. But heck, for Cassandra Clare, author of the Mortal Instruments series, I took the plunge.

Can you believe it? Me and Cassandra Clare!

Can you believe it? Me (right) and Cassandra Clare!

The book signing was in the small town of Exton, PA., in a Borders Express. (More about that below!) Without any strategy — other than to be there early — I made the 1 1/2 hour drive from Lansdale. I was 30 minutes early and No. 79 to get my book signed. The store was festively decorated, the staff in costume, and home-baked cupcakes and candy were waiting.

I was crammed into the store with hundreds of other eager fans. I turned around and without any fanfare, Cassandra Clare walked into the store and said “hi!” I don’t think many people recognized her. She was whisked away by the staff but reappeared shortly after.

Ms. Clare begin the event by reading two excerpts from her new book “City of Glass” and followed up with a Q & A session.

The event started at 6 p.m. I left the store with my signed book at around 8:30 p.m. (My one regret: I should have worn more comfortable shoes.)

Cassandra talked to everyone in line.

Cassandra talked to everyone in line.

So why was the book release in out-of-the-way Exton in a tiny bookstore? According to Ms. Clare for some reason her publishers will not schedule her for events on the East Coast. So, when she was invited by the bookstore, she accepted without asking her publisher. With approximately 150 fans standing in line to meet the author in this off-the- beaten- path venue, perhaps her publisher should re-think their strategy.

As a newbie to the book-signing gig, I was impressed by Ms. Clare’s personable nature and stamina. As I watched in line, she talked to everyone there to sign a book. The people waiting to meet the author varied in age from the very young to adults. For the very shy and the very nervous, Ms. Clare made them laugh and somehow drew them out with questions. Everyone got to talk to the author.

Fun facts learned at the event:

  • She has two cats named Linus and Lucy.
  • She is good friends with young-adult author Melissa Marr.
  • She and a group of her writing buddies rented a castle in Ireland.
  • Her first book, “City of Bones” was shopped to six different publishers.  Five responded, and three wanted to publish her book.
  • Her boyfriend is a very patient person, waiting by her side during the entire event!

Have author/book news? Attend a special book event? Send me your pics and news and I’ll post!

Comments»

1. Kennedy Stevens - April 6, 2010

I LOVE THE MORTAL INSTRUMENT SERIES XOXOXOXOXOXOXO 😀


Leave a Reply

